Institutional framework in the asylum and migration sector


All countries in the European Economic Area (EEA) are committed to implementing a national migration system that safeguards the right to seek asylum and take care of the most vulnerable asylum seekers. Additionally, all EEA countries are also part of the Dublin System which determines which country is responsible for processing an asylum application.The number of irregular migrants and asylum seekers arriving in Europe has increased in the past decade. As a main point of entry into the EU, Greece  faces particular challenges, which is why the Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway have developed a special programme to help the Greek authorities deal with the situation.