Cooperation agreement signed with Romania

Business development, research, energy and justice and home affairs will be key areas for cooperation with Romania over the next few years. 

Mou signing Romania 13 October 2016

Through the EEA and Norway Grants, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway have allocated EUR 502.5 million to 12 programmes in Romania. The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed in Bucharest Thursday 13 October. It is the most extensive cooperation agreement the three donor countries have ever signed with Romania.

The MoU with Romania is the first of a series of MoUs to be signed with the 15 beneficiary countries. The EEA and Norway grants amounts to EUR 2.8 billion in the period 2014-2021, and will be distributed between the beneficiary countries. Romania is the second largest beneficiary country.

Romania MoU EEA Grants 2014-2021 (in force as of 14 October 2016)

Romania MoU Norway Grants 2014-2021 (in force as of 14 October 2016)

Through the EEA and Norway Grants, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway have allocated EUR 502.5 million to 12 programmes in Romania. Photo credit: FMO


Business cooperation

There are high expectations that the programmes will create new employment opportunities. Around EUR 160 million has been allocated to business, research and energy cooperation. 

This cooperation is primarily intended to benefit Romania, but many of the programmes are implemented with partners from the donor countries, making it a good opportunity for companies to get to know new markets.


Roma inclusion

In addition to business and research cooperation, the MoU covers programmes on justice and home affairs, health, culture, and measures to improve the situation of the Roma population.

EUR 70 million has been made available for the poverty reduction programme, which will have a particular focus on the Roma. Funding under other programmes will also be earmarked to measures that benefit the Roma population.


Overview of programmes

Programme Partner(s) Allocation (EUR million)
Business Development, Innovation and SMEs Innovation Norway (Fund Operator) 45.0

Research Council Of Norway (RCN)

Icelandic Centre for Research (RANNIS)

Education, Scholarships, Apprenticeships and Youth Entrepreneurship

Norwegian Centre for International Cooperation in Education (SIU)

National Agency of International Education Affairs (AIBA)

Social Dialogue - Decent Work Innovation Norway (Fund Operator) 2.2
European Public Health Challenges

Norwegian Institute of Public Health (NIPH)

Norwegian Directorate of Health (HDIR)

Local Development, Poverty Reduction and Roma Inclusion 

Norwegian Association of Local and Regional Authorities (KS)

International Partner Organisation: Council of Europe (CoE) 

Environment and Ecosystems Norwegian Environment Agency (NEA) 20.0
Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency, Energy Security Innovation Norway (Fund Operator)


National Energy Authority (OS)

Norwegian Water Resources and Energy Directorate (NVE)

Cultural Entrepreneurship, Cultural Heritage and Cultural Exchange

Directorate of Cultural Heritage (RA)

Arts Council Norway (ACN)

Civil Society    46.0
Correctional Services and Pre-trial Detention

Norwegian Ministry of Justice

Directorate of Norwegian Correctional Service (KDI)

Norwegian Courts Administration (NCA)

International Partner Organisation: Council of Europe (CoE)

International Police Cooperation and Combatting Crime

Norwegian Ministry of Justice

National Police Directorate (POD)

Norwegian Directorate for Civil Protection (DSB)

Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI)

International Partner Organisation: Council of Europe (CoE)

Bilateral Fund   10.0


About the EEA and Norway Grants

Under the EEA Agreement, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are part of the European internal market. The EEA Agreement sets out the common goal of working together to reduce social and economic disparities in Europe and strengthen cooperation between European countries. Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway contribute to this through the EEA and Norway Grants.

Read the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs' press release with comments from Minister of EEA and EU Affairs Elisabeth Vik Aspaker