Jump to navigation Jump to content

Frontpage Where we work

Country overview

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway share a mutual interest and responsibility with other European countries in promoting security, equality of opportunity, environmental sustainability and a decent standard of living for all in the European Economic Area.

The 16 less prosperous EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics benefit from the EEA and Norway Grants. Together with Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway and the other EU countries, they make up the European Economic Area (EEA) which provides for the free movement of goods, services, persons and capital in the internal market.

Norway Iceland Liechtenstein Estonia Greece Romania Bulgaria Poland Cyprus Slovenia Czech Republic Malta Hungary Portugal Latvia Slovakia Lithuania Spain Croatia

Move your cursor over each country to see key facts and make a click to visit the country page.

Donor countries

Beneficiary countries

EEA Grants and Norway Grants 2009-14

The size and the distribution of the EEA and Norway Grants to the 16 beneficiary countries is agreed between the three donor countries and the EU through five-year agreements. In the current period, projects may be implemented until 2016.

EEA Grants

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, who contribute according to their size and economic wealth. Norway represents around 94%, Iceland close to 5% and Liechtenstein just over 1%. The EEA Grants are available to 16 beneficiary countries in Europe.

Norway Grants

The Norway Grants are financed by Norway alone and amount to €804.6 million. The Norway Grants are available to the 13 countries that have joined the EU and the EEA since 2004.