Slovak Republic signs EEA funds deal with Norway

Norway and the Slovak Republic signed on 11 January 2005 a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the Norwegian Financial Mechanism, which makes available close to € 38 million euros over a five-year period for projects in the Slovak Republic aiming to reduce social and economic disparities within the newly enlarged European Economic Area (EEA).

The MoU was signed by State Secretary, Deputy Foreign Minister Kim Traavik o­n behalf of Norway, and by Deputy Prime Minister for European Affairs, Minorities and Human Rights Pâl Csâky, o­n behalf of the Slovak Republic during a seminar held in Bratislava, Slovakia attended by numerous representatives from both countries. The seminar focused particularly o­n sectors such as environment, cultural heritage, professional education and life-long learning, child and youth work, academic research and regional and cross-border activities.

It is expected that the Slovak Republic will sign an MoU with the three EEA EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway for the EEA Financial Mechanism in the near future, which will make available an additional 32.34 million euros over the five-year period.