Portugal signs EEA funds 31 mln deal with Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

Portugal signed on 3 February 2005 a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the three EEA EFTA states Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway on the use of funds available through the European Economic Area Agreement (EEA).

PT EEA-PortugalMoU_signing.jpg

The MoU for the EEA Financial Mechanism, established under the EEA Enlargement Agreement, will make 31.3 million euros available for projects in sectors such as conservation of the European cultural heritage, human resources development and academic research and development.Mr Jose Luis Arnaut, Minister for Towns, Local Administration, Housing and Regional Development, signed the MoU o­n behalf of Portugal, while the Ambassador of Iceland, Mr. Kjartan Jóhannsson, the Ambassador of Liechtenstein, H.S.H. Prince Nikolaus of Liechtenstein, and the Ambassador of Norway, Mr. Bjørn T. Grydeland, signed o­n behalf of the EEA EFTA countries.