EEA Financial Instrument concludes 16 grant agreements with Spain

The chairman of the EEA Financial Instrument Committee, Mr Sigurd Klakeg, signed on 7 March 2005 in Madrid 16 grant agreements with Mr Carlos Ocaña y Pérez de Tudela, Secretary of Public Budget and Expenditure of the Ministry of Economy and Finance.

ES grant agreement signing.jpg

The signing took place in the presence of the Norwegian Ambassador, Mr Kjell Magne Frederiksen. All in all, 23 grants agreements have been signed under the EEA Financial Instrument, comprising agreements with Greece, Spain, Portugal and Ireland. The Spanish grant agreements cover projects which are mainly in the field of the environment, including urban renewal and securing the European cultural heritage. Geographically, the projects are spread over 8 of the 17 autonomous regions of Spain. In total, the grant assistance involved for the 16 projects amounts to just above 63 million euros.

More information o­n the EEA EFTA Funds, including specific information o­n the projects in Spain supported through the Financial Instrument, can be found via the EFTA Secretariat website.