Overview - EEA Grants Jump to navigation Jump to content

Promotion of diversity in culture and arts within European cultural heritage

Iceland, Liechtenstein and NOrway support programmes on diversity in culture and arts in ten beneficiary countries - Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Spain. Each programme, while sharing the same overall objective, is tailor-made to align with national needs and wider EU and donor country priorities.

The EU’s Agenda for Culture emphasises the importance of prmoting intercultural dialogue in our increasingly multicultural societies. It also stresses the need to enhance the mobility of artists and works of art and those working in the cultural sector to facilitate a wider access to culture.

With the inclusion of cultural diversity as a specific programme area, funding to the cultural sector under the EEA Grants has taken on a more holistic approach. Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are financing a wide range of activities relating to contemporary and live arts, including music, dance, theatre and opera. The overall goal is to reach broader audiences and to promote tolerance and anti-discrimination through an increased awareness of cultural diversity.

What is the objective of the programme?

  • Cultural dialogue increased and European identity fostered through understanding of cultural diversity

What are the expected results?

  • Contemporary art and culture presented and reading a broader audience
  • Awareness of cultural diversity raised and intercultural dialogue strengthened
  • Individual citizens’ cultural identity strengthened
  • Cultural history documented

Priorities, funded activities and eligibility criteria vary by programme. Read more detailed information in the individual programme summary for each country: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, and Spain.

Find out more about how you can get involved