Get involved - EEA Grants Jump to navigation Jump to content

Domestic and gender-based violence – applying for funding

Norway supports dedicated programmes on combating domestic and gender-based violence in Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Poland, Romania and Slovakia. The programmes fund a portfolio of projects.

Who can apply for funding?

Only entities registered in the seven countries with this programme can apply. Specific criteria and target groups are defined in the call for proposals. These may include non-governmental organisations, women’s rights organisations, local and regional authorities and other public and private institutions active in the field of combating gender-based violence.  

How can I get involved as a partner?

To enhance knowledge exchange and mutual learning, partnerships between organisations in the donor and beneficiary countries in projects are encouraged. Funding is available to support networking and foster project partnerships.

Norwegian public bodies are involved as donor programme partners (DPPs) in this programme area - the Secretariat of the Shelter Movement in Cyprus, Norwegian Directorate of Health in Estonia and Slovakia and National Police Directorate (Norway) in Romania. These organisations play a strategic role in programme planning and implementation, and can assist Norwegian entities who wish to get involved as partners.

The Council of Europe, long engaged in setting standards for preventing and combating gender-based violence, is involved in programmes in Bulgaria, Cyprus, Poland and Slovakia.

More information about how you can become or involve a partner in a project is available under partnerships

How and when to apply?

Projects are selected following open calls organised by the programme operator in each country. Calls are published on the websites of the programme operators and in our open calls calendar.

Eligibility requirements vary by programmes. Find out more in the individual programme summary for each country: : Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Poland, Romania and Slovakia.