Overview - EEA Grants Jump to navigation Jump to content

Global Fund for Decent Work and Tripartite Dialogue

Norway promote decent work and tripartite dialogue in the 13 beneficiary countries that joined the EU in 2004, 2007 and 2013 - Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Norway and the EU both support the principles of decent work and equal opportunities for all. The International Labour Organisation’s decent work agenda is strongly supported by the Norwegian Government, which has developed its own decent work strategy.

The Global Fund for Decent Work and Tripartite Dialogue supports activities promoting partnerships between various social partners; building capacity through their training, advancing non-discrimination in the workplace and improving tripartite dialogue structures and practices. The Fund aims to improve cooperation between employers’ organisations, trade unions and public authorities supporting fair and sustainable economic and social development.

Norway has a strong tradition of tripartite consultations, bringing together workers, employers and governments in formulating and negotiating labour standards and policies. To take advantage of this experience, cooperation with Norwegian social partners is encouraged, but not obligatory.

What is the objective of the programme?

  • Decent work promoted and tripartite cooperation improved between employers’ organisations, trade unions and public authorities in supporting equitable and sustainable economic social development

What are the expected results?

  • Improved social dialogue and tripartite structures and practices
  • Enhanced understanding of the benefits of decent work
  • Enhanced access to employment and participation in the labour market
  • Enhanced focus on the social dimension of workforce mobility
  • Advancement of gender equality and non-discrimination in the workplace
  • Improvement of work, family and private life balance
  • Improved worker adaptability and lifelong learning opportunities

Read more about the allocations in each of the 13 beneficiary countries.