How to get involved - EEA Grants Jump to navigation Jump to content

Frontpage What we do Programme areas Climate change and renewable energy Adaptation to climate change How to get involved

Adaptation to climate change – applying for funding

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway support programmes on adaptation to climate change in the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Portugal, Romania and Slovakia. The programmes fund a portfolio of projects.

Who can apply for funding?

Only entities registered in the countries with this programme can apply. Eligible applicants are defined in the call for proposals. These may include local governments, urban planners and research and educational institutes.

How can I get involved as a partner?

Pressing environmental issues do not stop at national borders. Pooling expertise helps tackle shared challenges. To strengthen cooperation and knowledge exchange, partnerships between entities in the donor and beneficiary countries in projects are encouraged.  Funding is available to support networking and foster project partnerships.

Three Norwegian public bodies are involved as donor programme partners (DPPs) in this area – The Norwegian Environment Agency in Latvia, the Norwegian Directorate for Civil Protection in Hungary, Latvia, Portugal and Slovakia, the Norwegian Coastal Administration in Malta and the Norwegian Water Resources and Energy Directorate also in Slovakia.

These organisations play a strategic role in programme planning and implementation, and can assist donor entities who wish to get involved as partners.

Read more about partnerships and view step-by-step how to become or involve a partner

How and when to apply?

Projects are selected following open calls organised by the programme operator in each country. Calls are published on the websites of the programme operators and in our open calls calendar.

Eligibility requirements vary by programmes. Find out more about opportunities in the individual programme summary for each country: Czech RepublicEstonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Portugal, Romania and Slovakia.